Track 2 - Industrial Communication Technologies and Systems

Track Chairs

Julian Proenza, University of Balearic Islands

Julian Proenza

University of Balearic Islands, Spain
Svetlana Girs, Mälardalen University

Svetlana Girs

Mälardalen University, Sweden

Download Call for Papers

Click here to download the track cfp.


The focus of the Track on Industrial Communication Technologies and Systems is on industrial communication technologies, including modeling, analysis, and synthesis of provably correct systems, as well as characterization of application requirements, implementations, performance evaluation, validation, and case studies. Original contributions in these areas are solicited.

Topics under this track include (but not limited to)

  • Industrial networks
  • IP-based and web-based industrial communications
  • Integration and interoperability of automation networks
  • Middleware for industrial communications and decentralized control
  • Software-Defined Networks and cognitive radio networks
  • Wireless instrumentation and wireless sensor networks
  • Mesh, relay, and multi-hop industrial networks
  • Wireless coexistence, spectrum-sharing and radio resource management in industrial environments
  • Dependability, fault tolerance, and safety in industrial networks
  • Information security in industrial communications
  • Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT)
  • Machine-to-machine (M2M) communications
  • Communication technologies for Industry 4.0
  • Remote configuration and network management
  • Real-time communication and precise synchronization
  • Event-driven and time-triggered communications
  • Quality of Service (QoS) and performance indexes
  • Time-Sensitive Networking

Track Committee

  • Gianluca Cena, CNR-IEIIT, Italy
  • Manuel Cheminod, CNR - IEIIT, Italy
  • Ramez Daoud, American University in Cairo, Egypt
  • Radu Dobrin, Mälardalen University, Sweden
  • Joaquim Ferreira, University of Aveiro, Portugal
  • Luis Lino Ferreira, CISTER/ISEP, Portugal
  • Peter Folkesson, RISE Research Institutes of Sweden, Sweden
  • Marisol García Valls, Universitat Politecnica de Valencia, Spain
  • Hans Hansson, Mälardalen University, Sweden
  • Juergen Jasperneite, Fraunhofer IOSB-INA, Germany
  • Kristina Kunert, Umeå University, Sweden
  • Luca Leonardi, University of Catania, Italy
  • Michele Luvisotto, ABB Power Grids Sweden AB, Sweden
  • Aamir Mahmood, Mid Sweden University, Sweden
  • Uwe Meier, TH OWL, Institute inIT, Germany
  • Roman Obermaisser, University of Siegen, Germany
  • Paulo Pedreiras, DETI/UA/IT, Portugal
  • Federico Perez, University of the Basque Country UPV/EHU, Spain
  • Paulo Portugal, University of Porto, Portugal
  • Sasikumar Punnekkat, Mälardalen University, Sweden
  • Markus Rentschler, Balluff GmbH, Germany
  • Ricardo J. Rodríguez, Universidad de Zaragoza, Spain
  • Stefano Scanzio, CNR-IEIIT, Italy
  • Michael Short, Teesside University, UK
  • Wilfried Steiner, TTECH, Austria
  • Abhilash Thekkilakkattil, Ericsson, Sweden
  • Eduardo Tovar, CISTER/ISEP, Portugal
  • Henning Trsek, inIT/OWL University, Germany
  • Andreas Willig, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
  • Claudio Zunino, CNR-IEIIT, Italy